More than 200 rowers earned qualification for their countries to the Lima 2019 Pan American Games this weekend while competing at the Pan American Qualification Regatta in Rio de Janeiro.

Beginning on Wednesday, November 28, the best rowers from across the Americas gathered in iconic Rio de Janeiro, Brazil seeking national glory and the chance to compete at the Lima 2019 Pan American Games next July in Lima, Peru.

The Qualification Regatta represented the only opportunity for rowers to qualify for the Pan Am Games, adding urgency to the exciting competition.

The event was held at the same venue used for rowing at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. After three days of qualifying and repechage races, the finals were held on December 1 and 2.

At the end of the competition, athletes from Chile raced their way to the top of the podium in several disciplines, taking home an impressive haul of six gold, one silver and two bronze medals. With these great results, Chile will be represented by 21 athletes in the rowing competition at Lima 2019, with a max of 26 allowed per National Olympic Committee.

The six golds and nine total medals made Chile the top country at the event, followed by Argentina with three golds and nine medals in second and Mexico with two golds and four medals in third.

In total, qualification to the region’s top sporting event was earned by more than 200 athletes across seven men’s disciplines and six women’s disciplines. After an exhilarating week of competition in Rio, the stage is set for fantastic rowing in the Peruvian capital next July.

Below is the breakdown of which countries qualified in which events:

Men’s Events:

M1X = Men’s Single Sculls – 12 boats
Cuba, Brazil, Chile, Argentina, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, USA, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Canada, Mexico

M2X = Men’s Double Sculls – 11 boats
Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Mexico, USA, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela, Peru, Canada

M4X = Men’s Quadruple Sculls – 5 boats
Argentina, Mexico, Uruguay, Cuba, Brazil

M2- = Men’s Coxless Pair – 6 boats
Chile, Cuba, Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, USA

M4- = Men’s Four – 5 boats
Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Chile, USA

LM2X = Men’s Lightweight Double Sculls – 10 boats
Mexico, Chile, Argentina, Cuba, Brazil, Peru, Canada, Uruguay, USA, Paraguay

LM4- = Men’s Lightweight Four – 5 boats
Chile, Brazil, Cuba, Mexico, Argentina

Women’s Events:

W1X = Women’s Single Sculls – 10 boats
USA, Argentina, Trinidad, Bermuda, Canada, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Paraguay, Puerto Rico

W2X = Women’s Double Sculls – 6 boats
Chile, Cuba, Argentina, USA, Canada, Brazil

W4X = Women’s Quadruple Sculls – 5 boats
Chile, Argentina, Cuba, Brazil, USA

W2- = Women’s Coxless Pair – 6 boats
Chile, Mexico, USA, Brazil, Canada, Nicaragua

LW1X = Women’s Lightweight Single Sculls – 9 boats
Mexico, Cuba, Argentina, Chile, El Salvador, Brazil, Uruguay, Paraguay, Canada

LW2X = Women’s Lightweight Double Sculls – 8 boats
Chile, Argentina, Cuba, Brazil, Mexico, Peru, Canada, Guatemala