President of the Association of National Olympic Committees Sheikh Ahmad Al-Fahad Al-Sabah welcomes the three newest members of the ANOC Executive Council, Camilo Perez, Tricia Smith and Keith Joseph. These NOC leaders were chosen by the Panam Sports General Assembly to represent the American continent on the Council.

The Panam Sports General Assembly held an open election to fill the three vacancies on the Association of National Olympic Committees Executive Council to conclude the first day of the Assembly in Lima, Peru.

Out of the eight candidates on the ballot, Paraguayan Olympic Committee President Camilo Perez was the first elected to the ANOC Executive Council in the opening round of voting, earning support from 28 of the 41 NOCs of Panam Sports.

In the third and final round of voting, Canadian Olympic Committee President, Tricia Smith, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines Olympic Committee Secretary General, Keith Joseph, earned 24 and 21 votes respectively. With the support of the majority of the Assembly, Smith and Joseph were elected to fill the final two positions available on the ANOC Executive Council.

“I want to congratulate Camilo, Tricia and Keith for being the new members of the Executive Council of the Association of National Olympic Committees,” said Sheik Ahmad Al-Fahad Al-Sabah, President of ANOC.

“I know them and I know they are great sports leaders and better people. They have devoted a large part of their lives to sport in their countries and the American continent, so they deserve to be able to represent their region in ANOC. I am convinced that they will bring great contributions and together, we will help the sports development of all the Olympic Committees. I take this opportunity to thank and congratulate President Neven Ilic for the great progress under his mandate of Panam Sports and for the great General Assembly that they have just held in Lima. See you in Tokyo in November.”

Panam Sports is proud to have three more exemplary representatives on the ANOC Executive Council and would like to congratulate Camilo Perez, Tricia Smith and Keith Joseph for their election to such an important international sporting organization.